Search

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Review -April 2024 My Results!

Last Updated: May 5, 2024

This is going to be the most in-depth and super-honest Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing review after I tried, tested and implemented Michelle Schroeder-Gardner’s course.

Most importantly, I will also reveal my blog income report and the exact income I made from affiliate marketing with my blog!

Table of Contents

Why Did I Write Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Review?

I first heard about Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing from Sophia Lee (the millionaire blogger who created Perfecting Blogging).

Affiliate marketing is one of my favorite side hustles because it is super flexible (you can work on it whenever you have the time), it doesn’t involve any customer service, you make money even when you don’t work on your business, and your expenses are super low!

Another factor for me when choosing a side hustle is enjoying what I do! Blogging is something I have always wanted to do full-time, and when I know that affiliate marketing and blogging go hand in hand, that makes it the best choice for me.

The most successful affiliate marketer are the ones that use their blog for affiliate marketing. Yes, you can get results just by running ads. However, they are not going to be as significant as with your blog.

What is Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing?

This course teaches you how to build a passive income business that requires you to put minimal effort into maintaining your results, making much more money than the hours you put in on a weekly basis.

This is not a get-rich-quick scheme. This is a real business, and you would need to put in the time to build a loyal audience, learn how to promote affiliate links the right way, sign up for affiliate programs and work to create a sustainable business.

Michelle shares practical affiliate marketing tips and how to use affiliate programs for maximum profits.

She also brings her own unique perspective on affiliate marketing,  and how she made it work for her while being a busy mom and wife and working her day job, building the life she always dreamed about on her own terms!

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing course Review

This course brings you the exact strategies she used and is using today to be successful with affiliate marketing and building her blogging business.

Who is Michelle Schroeder-Gardner

Michelle Schroeder-Gardner is a 34-year-old millionaire blogger! She lives on a sailboat with her husband and their young daughter, travelling the world while working only a few hours a week on her blog! She spends most of her time snorkeling, travelling and hiking.

Michelle started her journey in 2011, at the age of 22, when she was working full-time as a Financial Analyst and wasn’t able to pay off her student loans.

When she started her blog, her goal was to make enough money to pay off her student loan. She had no knowledge or experience in making money online, hustling and working long hours on her blog while working full-time at her job.

After 2 years of blogging as a side hustle, she was able to make a consistent income out of her blog of $5000 – $10,000 a month, and this was the point when she quit her job and went all in on her blog.

Today she is making $1M+ every year with her blog! She works only 10 hours per week and lives life on her own terms, travelling the world with her family and spending as much time as she wants with them.

Making Sense of Cents Income Report

2011 – The year she started blogging

2012 – $22,553 (July – December 2012)

2013 – $116,519 (this year she quit her job)

2014 – $163,929 (full-time blogger)

2015 – $320,888

2016 – $979,321 (this year, she created her course ‘Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing’)

2017 – $1,536,732

2018$1,500,000+

Since 2019, Michelle has stopped sharing her actual numbers to protect her privacy.


Michelle Schroeder Gardner Net Worth

The exact net worth of Michelle Schroeder Gardner is, of course, not advertised, and she specifically stated on her blog that from 2019 onward, she decided to stop sharing making sense of cents income reports.

We do know that she averages more than $1M every year from her blog and that her personal expenses are very low as she lives on a boat. In addition, in her interview with CNBC (July 2022), she said she earned over $4,000,000 in gross revenue in the last five years.

She also added that she and her husband have already reached financial independence, and at the age of 34, they have enough savings to retire whenever they choose to.

So let’s dive into all the details.

Making Sense of cents income report

Here Is the Most In-Depth Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Review –

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing – All Course Modules

 

Welcome Module

Who is Michelle, and how much does she really make every month from her blog (real screenshots from her affiliate programs dashboard), how to get support for your questions, what to expect as a new blogger

 

Module 1 – What is Affiliate Marketing

  • All the benefits of running an affiliate marketing business, what is passive about making money through affiliate marketing and what you will have to do weekly.

  • The basics of this business – what is affiliate marketing all about and the steps you will follow in this course to establish your new business.

  • Affiliate links and conversion – how it actually works and what is the Percentage of sale amount, CPA (cost per action), fixed basis and Per Lead. 

 

 

Module 2 – How to Find and Choose Affiliate Programs + The Application Process

  • Traffic – what kind of traffic do you need to have maximum conversion (conversion means that someone made a purchase by clicking your affiliate link).

  • Applying for Affiliate Programs – what do you need to apply, and the right time to apply.

  • Your content – how to know what your readers want to read about and how to increase your conversion rate through relevancy.

  • The exact criteria to find affiliate programs that will have the highest conversion rate on your specific website – specific questions to ask yourself to get the best results!

  • The process of finding affiliate programs – how to do an efficient search for affiliate companies, affiliate networks and direct affiliate programs.
  • A list of the most popular affiliate networks to apply for.

  • Did you find the same product in multiple affiliate netwroks? How to pick the right one – a complete checklist to follow.

  • 80+ Affiliate Program Ideas For Any Niche! Some niche examples – finance, parenting, travel, DIY, recipes, fashion and beauty, weddings and even a list of affiliate programs that accept new bloggers!

  • This list is insane! You have no idea how much time it will save you to find the right products and affiliate networks. It’s the most comprehensive list I’ve ever seen.

    The list includes not just the names of the companies but also a description of the product and a link to the affiliate program application page. These are the best affiliate programs to make money from affiliate marketing!

 

Worksheets in this Module –

  • Brainstorm What Your Readers Want
  • Affiliate Programs You Are Interested In
  • Affiliate Tracking Spreadsheets

Module 3 – Affiliate Marketing Requirements and Disclosures

  • All about what you need to disclose and where you should put your disclosure – guiding rules to do this the correct way so you can legally protect your site.

  • How to properly tag affiliate links, sponsored links and user-generated content links.

  • What to do if you are unable to be an affiliate for a certain affiliate program (for example, Amazon Associates) due to the state you live in!

 

Module 4 – How To Get Your Readers To Convert

  • The must-have WordPress plugin you need to increase the number of clicks you get on your affiliate links, increase conversions and make your job so much easier (and it is FREE to use)!

  • The exact formula to follow to build trust with your audience.

  • The common mistakes that affiliate marketers make.

  • How deep linking can help with your affiliate marketing.

  • Amazon Associates – how to use SiteStripe to create a deep link to a product on Amazon.

  • 5 insanely good (!) steps to increase your CTR.

  • CTR = Click-through rate- the number of clicks you get on your affiliate link for 100 page views.

  • How to increase conversions by providing a bonus to your readers and how to track these conversions.

  • 10 Affiliate marketing success strategies.

  • How to make more money from your top-performing blog posts.

Worksheets in this module –

  • How To Pick the right affiliate product to promote your brand

  • My Bonus Idea

  • Improving Your Top 10

 

 

Module 5: Strategies and Ways to Promote Affiliate Links

  • 8 different strategies to promote affiliate products

  • A case study – how Michelle was able to make over $300,000 from a single blog post! She is going over the exact blog post on her blog that made her all this money and is still making her money today!

  • Michelle is going over every paragraph and every image on that post, explaining specifically what works so well in this post. The income Michelle has generated from one post is just insane!

  • How to promote the same product to your followers in 8 different ways.

  • How to create outstanding affiliate product reviews step-by-step guide.

  • The type of products you should and shouldn’t review.

  • How to make affiliate income from a resource page on your blog –

    Tips on what content to include, which affiliate products will generate the most ROI in a resource page, tips for the perfect layout of a recommendations page, and all the methods to promote your recommendations page to reach more people.

  • How to use written interviews to drive more sales and bring more traffic to your blog and affiliate links (this lesson also includes amazing examples of interviews from Michelle’s blog).

  • Creating an email list – how to use an email list to promote your affiliate links step-by-step guide to promoting affiliate products through an email list the right way! 3 successful ways to promote affiliate links with an email list.

  • Affiliate marketing success with the quick mentions strategy.

  • The “content magnet” strategy and how it can help you navigate your website traffic to your affiliate links.

  • How to use social media to promote your affiliate links and be successful in doing that! And why a lot of people fail when they try to promote their affiliate links on their social media profiles.

  • Specifically, how to use Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for affiliate marketing.

  • Using Pinterest for your affiliate marketing strategy – step-by-step guide. All the tips and tricks to increase conversion rates of Pinterest affiliate marketing, including examples from Michelle’s Pinterest profile.

  • Another AMAZING example of Michelle’s post, which generated over $500,000!! And more golden nuggets on all the strategies she used to increase affiliate sales from that post.

  • This is one of the most in-depth modules in the course, so I tried to cover and include as many details as I could in this Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing review.

 

Worksheets in this Module –

  • Creating The Perfect Affiliate Review
  • Strategies To Promote Affiliate Products

Module 6: Rinse and Repeat

  • How to build strong relationships with the affiliate managers of the companies you are working with.

  • What are the 7 questions you regularly need to ask your affiliate manager in order to increase your affiliate marketing profits.

  • When and how to ask your affiliate manager for a commission increase.

  • The strategy to make sure all your affiliate links are up-to-date – 7 steps to follow.

  • top 10 affiliate marketing mistakes that you should avoid at all costs.

  • How to make sure that you have a successful affiliate marketing strategy in place that keeps your affiliate income levels up without too much work.

  • How to increase your affiliate income around the holidays (5 great tips and examples from Michelle’s blog and social media profile).

  • Worksheets in this Module –
    • Regular Maintenance Checklist
    • Worksheet – Tracking Your Affiliate Income Progress

 

Bonuses Module

  • How to make sure you are approved every time you submit an application to an affiliate program (and don’t get denied) – 5 things you need to pay attention to before you apply (this bonus was written by Justine Grey, who is an affiliate strategist).

  • How To Drive Thousands of Visitors To Your Blog With Pinterest (by Lauren McManus).

  • 9 steps to follow when one of your posts go viral.

  • 10 tips to increase your page views.

  • Worksheet – track your affiliate programs.

  • Worksheet – the perfect affiliate link checklist

  • How To Use Facebook Ads to Maximize Your Reach and Revenue (by Monica Louie).

  • How to Take Your Content To The Next Level with These Editing And Writing Strategies (by Ariel, the editor of Making Sense of Cents).

  • How To Legally Protect Your Blog.

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing – Money Back Guarantee

Does Michelle Schroeder Gardner offer a money-back guarantee for her affiliate marketing course?

Yes, Michelle offers a 30-day money-back guarantee if you are not happy with her course. Also, it is good to note that you can only ask for a refund if you actually went through the course.

Here is a screenshot of the guarantee from the Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing course page –

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing money back guarantee

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Facebook Group

It’s essential to know! Unlike other online courses with a private Facebook group for their members to ask questions, in this private Facebook group, you get answers to your questions from Michelle herself!

A special day when Michelle posts her post “Ask Michelle,” where you can ask your question and get an answer directly from Michelle, not from another coach or assistant.

Every Monday, there is also a ‘Motivation Monday’ post by Michelle, where she invites members of the group to share their goals for the week or share things they have been working on, creating engagement and increasing motivation.

Another weekly post by Michelle is “Share Day Tuesday”, where she invites all course members to help one another by sharing other people’s affiliate links and posts! Creating a mutual support network, assisting new bloggers get going, and getting shares, likes, and comments on their posts.

Winning Wednesday” post, inviting all members to share their small and big wins and get encouragement from everyone else!

On top of that, you can also post your questions in the group and get advice from other bloggers anytime you want to

 

You Can Ask Michelle Schroeder Gardner Anything You Want!

As a student of the Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing course, I received the below email from Michelle –

“Hello!

As a Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing student, you can ask me questions related to your blog and business.

​Simply head to the Facebook group for the course here and ask your question.

You can share questions, links, etc., and I will make the time to give feedback for every post in the thread.

Thanks,

Michelle from Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing and Making Sense of Cents”

​What does it mean? You don’t need to attend a special Q&A webinar once in a while to ask a question; you don’t even need to log in to Facebook on a specific date when there is a particular thread for questions.

You can ask your question whenever you want, and you will get an answer from Michelle herself. How amazing is that??

Ask Michelle in the Facebook group

Who Will Most Benefit from Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing?

The Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing course will most benefit bloggers! No doubt about it.

If your dream is to be a content creator and make series income as an affiliate without putting yourself out there or becoming an influencer on YouTube or anything like that, this is the perfect course for you!

It is no secret that Michelle has made an enormous amount of money just by applying affiliate marketing strategies to her blog. She travels around the world with her husband and baby, works on her blog a few hours a week, and lives the dream of many of us!

So, if the lifestyle of working from anywhere in the world, publishing content on your blog and making tens of thousands of dollars a month doing just that is something you always wanted to do (like I did), then don’t hesitate to purchase the course and start today!

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing – The Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Learn from someone who actually got the results you want. There are hundreds and thousands of affiliate marketing tutorials out there, but only a few have the results to show.

    This is why I purchased Michelle Schroeder-Gardner’s course in the first place, and now I am writing this Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing review.

  • One of the biggest pros of Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing is that Michelle is laying down the foundation for an affiliate marketing business that actually converts and makes money.

    Most of the affiliate marketing courses out there focus only on the traffic and how to pick the highest-paying affiliate programs, but at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if you have 50,000 page views a month if your website doesn’t convert and no one is buying the products you recommend.

  • As Michelle Schroeder-Gardner puts it, you are about to learn “how to master affiliate marketing without selling your soul”, and that course is exactly it.

    A lot of entrepreneurs need to work very long hours and give up their family life and the things that matter most to get the results. This is a very stressful and frustrating way to build a business, driving your motivation and passion out the window.

  • Michelle Schroeder-Gardner did it her way. She got the results (and much more than that, but at the same time, she has managed to keep doing the rest of the things that are important to her, like being a mom and a partner and working at her day job.

    That means that her way is unique and takes into account the lives of busy moms and how to manage all of that the correct way without losing your sanity or getting poor results. If you are a mom looking to build a successful affiliate marketing.

    If you also want to start a business your own way, take care of your kids and family and continue to work on your affiliate marketing side business at the same time, then this course is 100% the right course for you!

  • The content of the course can be accessible through Teachable, a very user-friendly online course platform that allows you to track your progress in the course and continue from the exact point where you left off.
  • The course is in a text format. This has 4 pros that I’ve discovered while going through the course –

    • Reading a text is much faster than watching a video, and you can scan some of the material to jump straight to what interests you the most.

    • Reading a text can be done from anywhere and at any time, unlike watching a video when if you don’t have your earphones with you – you just can’t make any progress with your course.

      I’ve found myself reading the course content on the train on my way to work and managed to go through a lot of lessons at once.

    • You can also just print out the lessons and read them anywhere you want (you don’t even need an internet connection!).

    • Summarizing the most important information can’t be easier and faster with this format – because instead of listening to a video and typing and going back every time you missed something, here you can just copy and paste the important sentences to your course summary.

  • All the course lessons are laid out and open for you to go through at any time and from anywhere in the world.

    You don’t need to attend lessons on a specific day and time, and you can jump to lessons that are further ahead even without completing the previous lessons.

  • You can go through the course content at your own pace. If you want to go through all the course content in one weekend? You can do that!

  • Are you afraid to look like a slimy salesperson on social media or on your blog, and this thought alone makes you procrastinate on becoming a successful affiliate marketer? I hear you! I feel the same way.

    The most important thing for me is to provide real value and not to appear sleazy in any way.

    This is why most of the affiliate marketing strategies I saw online over the years, including all these affiliate marketing tutorials on YouTube, just didn’t work for me.

    I could never really follow along and implement spammy strategies that don’t align with my values, the way I see my business and the value I would like to provide to my readers.

    This is why I absolutely LOVE Michelle’s affiliate marketing tips and the strategy she teaches. Bringing a lot of value to her readers and being extremely successful in doing that.

    She does not promote products that she doesn’t believe in and does all of that in the most natural way (which is highly converting, I must say), and she shows you the right way to do that, not to turn your readers away.

Cons

  • Some people are not used to a text format for the course training.
    But if you think of the value you will get and how many new strategies you will acquire – the training format will not be a problem at all.


    You will find as you go through the course that it actually makes things easier for you to go through a lot of content in less time, and you can do it even from places where you need to be silent and can’t listen to any audio.

  • Although the course includes training about different free traffic sources and how to use them (Like Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and Twitter), Michelle is not going through SEO (search engine optimization) strategies and how to optimize your blog for Google.

How Long Until You Make Money?

As Michelle keeps repeating –

“Affiliate marketing takes time. You really need to spend time applying the strategies and tips that I’ve taught you in this course towards your overall affiliate marketing strategy.”

If anyone else tells you that starting to make real consistent money with affiliate marketing will take you 1-2 months – you should know that there is no way this is correct, and even if you bring a lot of traffic with ads at the beginning – this is not sustainable, will cost you a lot of money and not the way to start a new business and manage your money in the right way (without unnecessary risks).

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Price – So Affordable!

As I mentioned before, the Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing course price is more than affordable, and the value and tools you’ll get from taking the course are so much more than the price you pay for that course.

The price of Making Sence of Affiliate Marketing is much lower than other affiliate marketing courses, and you’ll get so many tools to make money with affiliate marketing that if you only apply a few of them, you will make your money back in no time and the most important thing – you’ll be able to start building a real business that, in the long run, makes much more than your 9-5 job.

Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Price is $197 (one-time payment).

If you choose the payment plan option – 2 payments of $105/month.

Is Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing Worth It In 2024?

OMG, Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing is totally worth it! And it is actually worth much more than the price of the course.

I went through SO many digital courses in the past 15 years and paid tens of thousands of dollars so far, and unfortunately, there were too many courses that I bought for around $1000 that were not worth the price in any way.

Don’t be fooled by the price of this course!

This course is absolutely full of golden nuggets that can make you a lot of money if you will just implement everything in your blog – and there is a lot to implement.

Even if you are already doing affiliate marketing, you will get so many new successful strategies and tactics to blow up your blog’s income!

The affiliate marketing strategy taught in this course covers EVERYTHING you need to turn your blog into a successful business that generates more than $10k a month. This is not a get-rich-quick scheme. This is a real business that needs dedication and consistent work.

However, if you follow the course and implement Michelle Schroeder Gardner’s strategy, there is no doubt in my mind that you WILL reach your financial goal, whatever it is.

Now more than ever, after we have been through COVID and so many job insecurities, there is no better time to start a blog that makes affiliate income on the side that will grow steadily as time goes by. I personally look at it as an insurance policy for financial freedom.

My Income Report – Exciting Results!

I published my blog at the end of 2021, but just after I published it, I didn’t do much with it because of all the stress of my full-time job and taking care of my children.

At the end of 2022, I purchased Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing.
I started publishing more content but still not enough, I was publishing only 1 or 2 posts a month, and I also created my Pinterest account (I thought it was better to start where I am and with what I can do right now and make progress instead of doing nothing.

My first income was in September 2023, and it was all from affiliate marketing boy, was I surprised when it happened!!

I was going through my emails on the train on my way to work and saw this email saying I got an affiliate commission from a sale, I couldn’t believe it! This was the day that changed my life! And pushed me forward to believe that this IS possible and that I can do it if I’m just more focused and consistent.

Here is my blog income since then –

Sep 2023 – $279

Oct 2023 – $479

Nov 2023 – $2051 🙂 

Jan 2024 – $723

Feb 2024 – $478.8

  • Notes –
  • All of this income is from affiliate earnings and this one blog! All traffic is free traffic from Google search and Pinterest.

  • November 2023 – a huge jump because of Black Friday sales!

  • I should also note that I implemented both Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing strategies and Perfecting Blogging – By Sophia Lee Blogging Course strategies.

  • Sophia Lee’s course focuses on blogging and SEO (ranking your blog posts in Google), while Michelle Schroeder-Gardner’s course focuses heavily on all affiliate marketing strategies for bloggers.

    I personally found that implementing the strategies from both courses together was the winning strategy for me.

My Income Report March 24

This was a complete and honest review of Making Sense of Affiliate Marketing. I am so glad I took this course, and I am still not even close to implementing everything that Michelle Schroeder-Gardner teaches in this course.

One thing I know for sure, if this is the lifestyle you have been dreaming about and you want to make money blogging and even much more than your job (and I know this is my dream), then I have no doubt in my mind that you must take this course.

As Darren Hardy once said in his book The Compound Effect, “You only need to take a series of tiny steps, consistently, over time, to radically improve your life” – and this is so true in blogging! Tiny steps are all you need to achieve this goal.

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I’ll receive a commission if you purchase through one of my links at no extra cost to you! We only recommend courses that we bought, implemented and loved! Thank you for supporting our blog.

Skip to content